More Super Heroes, Oldies But Goodies

So, I was looking through my old art and I came across these ‘old’ X-Men samples. As I recall, C. B. Cebulski (now of Marvel) was running a talent search. I thought, “What the heck, I’ll give it a try. Besides, maybe I’ll get some feedback.”. I wasn’t picked, but I believe I was under consideration (or something along those lines).

Things that ‘irritate’ me now that I look at it: the edge of the mansion connecting to Doc’s shoulder on page 5, Panel 3. A fellow artist friend (Neil Chenier) mentioned that one should avoid lines intersecting figures like that. I’ve since learned (I hope) to catch these things.

I don’t work with super heroes much these days (just not the kind of paying work I get…yet), but I love all these great movies they’re doing now. This year will be a challenge to see them all (what with kids and all): Iron Man 3, Thor 2, Superman. Then there are the other movies I look forward to, like Star Trek and the Hobbit (part 2).

C. B. Cebulski also tweeted a video where he gives advice for aspiring writers and artists looking to work for Marvel. Good video, not too long, for anyone interested.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=mNWj61J_gZs&feature=youtu.be&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DmNWj61J_gZs%26feature%3Dyoutu.be

Scott

20130424-103403.jpg

20130424-103419.jpg

20130424-103427.jpg

20130424-103434.jpg

20130424-103443.jpg

Leave a Reply

