TBT: ERA SERVANTS QUARTER

So, today is a day for me to dredge the depths of my drawers and closets to unearth art that I haven’t scanned.  In addition to 5 pages of Chapter 4 of the Chronicles of Era that had mysteriously never made it into my computer, I found this oldie.  From 2005, so it might have been just after I illustrated the first chapter of Era.  Not sure, as dates and times for me are hazy at best even on the best of days.  But, I do know that when I was creating Era I was trying to challenge myself.  I had just read books like Scott McCloud’s “Understanding Comics”, and I had recognized a deficiency with my backgrounds, perspective and doing complex group shots.  I still struggle with these things, and now I add diversity in the distinctiveness of people’s features.  As old and as flawed as this page is, I can still see the leaps I had made in attempting to overcome these shortcomings.

ERA_SLAVEQUARTER

This is my first Throw Back Thursday ever.

Keep Creative!

Scott

 

Leave a Reply

