Happy Aniversary 

Taking a brief moment to talk about something other than my art (mostly): my wife. 

Today is our anniversary. After 7 years (13 years together in total), I can say this: I would not be the person I am today without her at my side. She has been extraordinarily supportive of this poor, introverted, starving artist type.  While not wildly enthusiastic about my (sometimes) obscene Star Wars/Lego habit, she has always been supportive of my art. She offers sound advice and sometimes less than subtle nudges. 

I wish I could say I was equally supportive, but I’ve tried my best. I knew that she had a gift for teaching, but when the bureaucracy of university was more a hindrance, I supported her choices until the opportunity to be an EA came about. She has only been in the field a short time, but she excels in her career (not a huge surprise; I could only wish those in a position of power recognized it and made it permanent). She is fantastic in all that she does and it is a gift to have her in my life. 

She has been a supportive partner, a nurturing parent, and an outstanding educator. 

Here’s to another 7 years, and beyond. 

This was a drawing done to commemorate our engagement.

 

Leave a Reply

