2016 Eisner Awards

The shortlist for the 2016 Eisner Awards was released April 20th.

The Eisner Awards are often referred to as the Oscars of comics.

There’s lots of high calibre work nominated. Lots of women selected, which is of course awesome. I’m a little out of touch with a lot of books, but I see Monstress by Marjorie Liu and illustrated by Sana Takeda is up for best writer and Best New Series. Other books that I’m familiar with that are nominated are Autumn Lands (best colourist), Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard, vol. 3 (Best Anthology), and The Beauty. (A very short list of what I’m familiar with, but I hope to tackle some of these books).

Oh, and then there’s the category Best Single Issue/One Shot.

Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 10.31.23 AM

Wait? What?!

Blanket of Butterflies made its way on that list!

How cool is that?!

A Blanket of Butterflies was written by Richard Van Camp–who has a ton of books, several having been adapted into film. Illustrated by Scott Henderson (for those that haven’t caught on to as why I’m so excited by this particular nomination…)

This graphic novel was a blast to work on. It was a refreshing departure from the historical comics that I had been working on (Not that I haven’t loved working on the books by David Robertson . I love all the books that I work on, such as Tales from Big Spirit or Betty: The Helen Betty Osborne Story (which also has a nomination in the Manitoba Book Awards)). With A Blanket of Butterflies I challenged myself to draw people that I don’t normally draw, or to expand on my diversity; I worked on creating depth with just line art; creating unique and convincing environments. It is a huge honour to have worked on a book that is considered along side such other great–and even legendary–artists, writers and comic creators.

A sample of what A Blanket of Butterflies is about:

25326-PM-BoB-Cover-FIN-JS BoB_INK_P01_TEXT_B BoB_INK_P02_TEXT_B BoB_INK_P03_TEXT_B BoB_INK_P05_TEXT_B

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or a Book Trailer is here.

You can get a copy of A Blanket of Butterflies from the publisher, HighWater Press.

(It is also available at McNally Robinson Booksellers, and I see it will be available on Amazon shortly. No eBook version yet, but all other titles by HighWater Press have digital versions, so I’m sure it’s on its way).

For those in the industry (which also includes the nominees, and publishers) you can vote for your favourites here (click!).

Just want to say thank you to Richard Van Camp for making an awesome story and determined to have me illustrate it, to the women at HighWater Press for supporting the book, and to all those involved at the Eisner Awards for considering A Blanket of Butterflies. Good luck to all of the nominees!

–Scott

P.S.

Feel free to roam about my galleries for all of my illustration work. Much of it is for HighWater Press, but there is also my own graphic novel series, The Chronicles of Era: an epic fantasy about three youths caught between waring nations, while secret agents try to reopen the gates to a long lost paradise. The Chronicles of Era is available on ComiXology or through my InDepand Indiegogo Campaign.

Leave a Reply

